Sehenswürdigkeiten in Kalajoki

Genieβen Sie die idyllische Atmosphäre in Plassi, der Altstadt von Kalajoki, mit ihren alten Holzhäusern. Bestaunen Sie die imposanten Säle des Gutshauses Havula. Versetzen Sie sich im Heimatmuseum in alte Zeiten – wie lebte man hier früher? Wie gestalteten sich Fischfang, Schiffsbau und die Arbeit allgemein? Wie sind wohl die Glocken hoch in den Kirchturm gelangt?
Lassen Sie sich von Aufführungen der Sommertheater verzaubern.

Kalajoki hat auch in kultureller und historischer Hinsicht viel zu bieten!


  • Lesen Sie mehr  →

    Manor houses

    Sawmill owner Oskari Santaholma’s Art Nouveau villa, constructed in 1912, functions as a house museum. It is open 15 June – 5 August from Sunday to Friday between 11 am and 6 pm, and on Saturdays between 11 am and 4 pm. Guided tours every hour, the last tour Sun-Fri at 5 pm and Sat at 3 pm. Group tours are also available outside these times by request.The museum café is open Sun-Fri from 11 am to 6 pm, and Sat from 11 am to 4 pm.

    Havula Villa
    Plassintie 56
    +358 44 469 1874, +358 50 536 5519


  • Lesen Sie mehr  →

    Summer Theatres

    To celebrate its 20th anniversary, Kalajoki’s summer theatre is presenting Hella Wuolijoki’s drama classic Niskavuoren leipä (The Bread of Niskavuori). Performances between 12 July and 12 August 2018. Covered stands and stage. Pre-purchased tickets: Kalajoki Booking Centre, tel. +358 8 469 4449 and Lipputoimisto ticket office, tel. +358 600 950 20.

    Kalajoki’s summer theatre Willi Lakeus
    +358 44 596 6344


    This charming summer theatre with a lot of personality has a covered auditorium with steps seating for approx. 200 people.

    Summer Theatre Vihreä Valo
    Taluskyläntie 660, Talus
    +358 8 432 839


  • Lesen Sie mehr  →


    Kalajoki’s current brick church with a steeple at one end was designed by Provincial Architect F.W. Lüchow. This church was the seventh in the parish and was completed in 1879. The building was destroyed by a fire in 1930, after which it was repaired to its current design by architect W.G. Palmqvist. The church has an altarpiece painted by Adolf von Becker, Jeesuksen ylösnouseminen (‘The Resurrection of Jesus’), and T.G. Tuhkanen’s paintings Tuhlaajapojan paluu (‘The Return of the Prodigal Son’) and Hyvä paimen (‘The Good Shepherd’). Next to the church is a bell tower built in 1815 by Heikki Kuorikoski, which survived the fire that destroyed the sixth church. The bell tower was raised in 1856. The wooden ‘poor boy’ standing by the wall is from 1815 and was carved by a ‘wood carver from Reisjärvi’.

    Kalajoki Church
    Etelänkyläntie 1


    The Himanka Church is a traditional wooden cruciform church. The church and its bell tower were designed by Central Ostrobothnian church builder Jacob Rijf in 1794. The church, which is surrounded by its old graveyard, underwent restoration in 1897.

    Himanka Church
    Huhdantie 13, Himanka


    The traditional wooden cruciform church of Rautio and its bell tower were completed in 1800. The church and its vertically three-sectioned tower are the last church buildings designed by the famous church builder Simon Matinpoika Jylkä, i.e. Silven, from Kalajoki.

    Rautio Church
    Rautiontie 1700, Rautio


    Maakalla island’s octagonal church was designed by the famous church builder Simon Matinpoika Jylkä, i.e. Silven, from Kalajoki. The church was completed in 1780.

    Maakalla Church


    Mr Kosti Nahkala’s life’s work has been providing a place of rest and relaxation for over 20 years. Linnakallio offers accommodation, a smoke sauna, a swimming pond, summer theatre and different types of facilities to organise celebrations. The area’s special features, the Riihikirkko and Pahkakirkko churches, are excellent places to calm down or to organise a ceremony. The church doors are always open to visitors.

    Taluskyläntie 660, Talus
    +358 8 432 839


  • Lesen Sie mehr  →

    Chapel of the Orthodox Church

    The prayer room or tsasouna was consecrated in 2014 by Bishop Arseni, acting Bishop of the Diocese of Oulu. The prayer room is a masterpiece

    Kalajoki Orthodox Prayer Room
    Matkailutie 249


  • Lesen Sie mehr  →


    The local history museum, founded in an old school building, lets visitors become familiar with shipping history and peasant-style sailing. The museum’s specialties include handicrafts made by sailors or brought back from abroad, such as a sawfish saw, a shark jawbone and a coconut. In addition, the room contains images of the Sautinkari sawmill, illustrating its history.

    Himanka Local History Museum
    Sautinkarintie, Himanka
    +358 50 373 1775


    The museum is operating in Törnvall’s old house, which was transferred to its current location from the townhall yard in 1964. This Ostrobothnian building, originating from the 19th century, is among the oldest in Kalajoki and hosted the Awakening meeting of 1838. The museum illustrates life in the old days, as well as some of the famous people from Kalajoki.

    Kalajoki Local History Museum
    Siltasaari (Kalajoki town centre)
    +358 40 509 8788, +358 8 462 090


    The Fishing Museum’s main exhibition primarily illustrates the Kalajoki region’s fishing traditions and their integral elements of river and sea fishing, lamprey fishing and seal hunting, and the use of Maakalla and Ulkokalla as a base for the fishing trips. Fiia’s cottage (Fiian mökki) is the only surviving example of modest, low-income housing in Plassi from the first half of the 20th century.

    Fishing Museum and Fiia’s cottage
    +358 40 509 8788, +358 8 462 090


    The local history museum’s main building is a former parish clerks’ residence. The museum has been decorated in the traditional rural style of the Rautio area. Two storehouses dating back to the end of the 18th century and a blacksmith’s workshop have been transferred to the yard. The name Rautio refers to the Finnish word for iron, ‘rauta’, and the museum specialises in blacksmithing.

    Rautio Local History Museum
    Huhtakyläntie 21, Rautio
    +358 400 890 850


    The traditional farm house surroundings have magnificent timber buildings, a main building constructed from storehouses used to store salt and tar, and a horizontally growing tabuliformis spruce, ‘Tapionpöytä’, from which the place also gets its name. The restaurant offers home-style cooking and the café its famous donuts, whilst the shop sells local crafts, gift items and souvenirs. Tapion Tupa also hosts monthly changing art exhibitions. Apartments and a camp site are available for those staying the night. In addition, Tapion Tupa also sells fishing licences for the Rahja archipelago and rents bicycles.

    Tapion Tupa
    Matkailutie 3
    +358 8 466 622



  • Lesen Sie mehr  →

    Kalajoki old town

     Plassi – the old town of Kalajoki
    Plassi, the old town of Kalajoki, is well worth a visit, thanks to its village setting and museums. In Plassi, visitors can immerse themselves into Kalajoki’s old centre with its market square, riverside surroundings and idyllic wooden houses. In Plassi, you can visit Havula, the Art Nouveau villa of sawmill owner Oskari Santaholma and a small fishing museum. Alternatively, visitors can simply enjoy the atmosphere created by the main street, riverside and old wooden houses.


  • Lesen Sie mehr  →

    Ansio Galeas

    Sail to the island of Maakalla with the Galeas Ansio! The Galeas Ansio is a traditional wooden two-mast vessel, whose unique beauty will enchant you! The Ansio was designed based on the original line drawings, a model boat and a single photograph of the original Galeas Ansio built in 1891 in Kalajoki. You can find the most recent sailing schedules on
    our web page. All sailing trips depart from Kalajoki’s Konikarvo fishing harbour.

    Ansio Galeas
    +358 44 270 4358