SIGHTS in Kalajoki

Enjoy the atmosphere of rustic village streets and the beauty of old wooden houses in Plassila, the old town of Kalajoki. Experience the spectacular halls of Havula Manor. See how people used to live, fish, work and build ships at the local history museums Ponder how they managed to lift the bells up to the belfry in the olden days. Engross yourself in stories at summer theatres.

Kalajoki offers plenty to see for culture and history buffs!

PEEK INSIDE A MANOR

  • Read more  →

    Manor houses

    Sawmill owner Oskari Santaholma’s Art Nouveau villa, constructed in 1912, functions as a house museum. It is open 15 June – 5 August from Sunday to Friday between 11 am and 6 pm, and on Saturdays between 11 am and 4 pm. Guided tours every hour, the last tour Sun-Fri at 5 pm and Sat at 3 pm. Group tours are also available outside these times by request.The museum café is open Sun-Fri from 11 am to 6 pm, and Sat from 11 am to 4 pm.

    Havula Villa
    Plassintie 56
    +358 44 469 1874, +358 50 536 5519
    www.kalajokiresort.fi/havula

EXPERIENCE A SUMMER THEATRE

  • Read more  →

    Summer Theatres

    To celebrate its 20th anniversary, Kalajoki’s summer theatre is presenting Hella Wuolijoki’s drama classic Niskavuoren leipä (The Bread of Niskavuori). Performances between 12 July and 12 August 2018. Covered stands and stage. Pre-purchased tickets: Kalajoki Booking Centre, tel. +358 8 469 4449 and Lipputoimisto ticket office, tel. +358 600 950 20.

    Kalajoki’s summer theatre Willi Lakeus
    Teatteripolku
    +358 44 596 6344
    www.willilakeus.fi

    divider

    This charming summer theatre with a lot of personality has a covered auditorium with steps seating for approx. 200 people.

    Summer Theatre Vihreä Valo
    Linnakallio
    Taluskyläntie 660, Talus
    +358 8 432 839
    www.linnakallio.fi

CHURCHES

  • Read more  →

    CHURCHES

    Kalajoki’s current brick church with a steeple at one end was designed by Provincial Architect F.W. Lüchow. This church was the seventh in the parish and was completed in 1879. The building was destroyed by a fire in 1930, after which it was repaired to its current design by architect W.G. Palmqvist. The church has an altarpiece painted by Adolf von Becker, Jeesuksen ylösnouseminen (‘The Resurrection of Jesus’), and T.G. Tuhkanen’s paintings Tuhlaajapojan paluu (‘The Return of the Prodigal Son’) and Hyvä paimen (‘The Good Shepherd’). Next to the church is a bell tower built in 1815 by Heikki Kuorikoski, which survived the fire that destroyed the sixth church. The bell tower was raised in 1856. The wooden ‘poor boy’ standing by the wall is from 1815 and was carved by a ‘wood carver from Reisjärvi’.

    Kalajoki Church
    Etelänkyläntie 1

    divider

    The Himanka Church is a traditional wooden cruciform church. The church and its bell tower were designed by Central Ostrobothnian church builder Jacob Rijf in 1794. The church, which is surrounded by its old graveyard, underwent restoration in 1897.

    Himanka Church
    Huhdantie 13, Himanka

    divider

    The traditional wooden cruciform church of Rautio and its bell tower were completed in 1800. The church and its vertically three-sectioned tower are the last church buildings designed by the famous church builder Simon Matinpoika Jylkä, i.e. Silven, from Kalajoki.

    Rautio Church
    Rautiontie 1700, Rautio

    divider

    Maakalla island’s octagonal church was designed by the famous church builder Simon Matinpoika Jylkä, i.e. Silven, from Kalajoki. The church was completed in 1780.

    Maakalla Church

    divider

    Mr Kosti Nahkala’s life’s work has been providing a place of rest and relaxation for over 20 years. Linnakallio offers accommodation, a smoke sauna, a swimming pond, summer theatre and different types of facilities to organise celebrations. The area’s special features, the Riihikirkko and Pahkakirkko churches, are excellent places to calm down or to organise a ceremony. The church doors are always open to visitors.

    Linnakallio
    Taluskyläntie 660, Talus
    +358 8 432 839
    www.linnakallio.fi

CALM YOUR MIND AT A CHAPEL

  • Read more  →

    Chapel of the Orthodox Church

    The prayer room or tsasouna was consecrated in 2014 by Bishop Arseni, acting Bishop of the Diocese of Oulu. The prayer room is a masterpiece

    Kalajoki Orthodox Prayer Room
    Matkailutie 249

MUSEUMS

  • Read more  →

    MUSEUMS

    The local history museum, founded in an old school building, lets visitors become familiar with shipping history and peasant-style sailing. The museum’s specialties include handicrafts made by sailors or brought back from abroad, such as a sawfish saw, a shark jawbone and a coconut. In addition, the room contains images of the Sautinkari sawmill, illustrating its history.

    Himanka Local History Museum
    Sautinkarintie, Himanka
    +358 50 373 1775

    divider

    The museum is operating in Törnvall’s old house, which was transferred to its current location from the townhall yard in 1964. This Ostrobothnian building, originating from the 19th century, is among the oldest in Kalajoki and hosted the Awakening meeting of 1838. The museum illustrates life in the old days, as well as some of the famous people from Kalajoki.

    Kalajoki Local History Museum
    Siltasaari (Kalajoki town centre)
    +358 40 509 8788, +358 8 462 090

    divider

    The Fishing Museum’s main exhibition primarily illustrates the Kalajoki region’s fishing traditions and their integral elements of river and sea fishing, lamprey fishing and seal hunting, and the use of Maakalla and Ulkokalla as a base for the fishing trips. Fiia’s cottage (Fiian mökki) is the only surviving example of modest, low-income housing in Plassi from the first half of the 20th century.

    Fishing Museum and Fiia’s cottage
    Plassi
    +358 40 509 8788, +358 8 462 090

    divider

    The local history museum’s main building is a former parish clerks’ residence. The museum has been decorated in the traditional rural style of the Rautio area. Two storehouses dating back to the end of the 18th century and a blacksmith’s workshop have been transferred to the yard. The name Rautio refers to the Finnish word for iron, ‘rauta’, and the museum specialises in blacksmithing.

    Rautio Local History Museum
    Huhtakyläntie 21, Rautio
    +358 400 890 850

    divider

    The traditional farm house surroundings have magnificent timber buildings, a main building constructed from storehouses used to store salt and tar, and a horizontally growing tabuliformis spruce, ‘Tapionpöytä’, from which the place also gets its name. The restaurant offers home-style cooking and the café its famous donuts, whilst the shop sells local crafts, gift items and souvenirs. Tapion Tupa also hosts monthly changing art exhibitions. Apartments and a camp site are available for those staying the night. In addition, Tapion Tupa also sells fishing licences for the Rahja archipelago and rents bicycles.

    Tapion Tupa
    Matkailutie 3
    +358 8 466 622
    www.tapiontupa.com

TYNGÄN MYLLY MILL

  • Read more  →

    Tyngän Mylly Mill

    The historical Tyngän Mylly (Tynkä Mill) was founded in 1916. The mill is a wonderful place to visit for groups and families. Groups can also book the Mill Stories package (Myllytarinat). Those with an appropriate fishing licence can fish at the Myllykoski rapids. The mill is still in operation, and has a flour shop, café and postal services. Tynkä’s mill products are made from clean Finnish grains, using traditional methods.

    Myllyntie 30, Tynkä
    +358 8 466 319
    www.tynganmylly.fi

SEE THE OLD TOWN

  • Read more  →

    Kalajoki old town

     Plassi – the old town of Kalajoki
    Plassi, the old town of Kalajoki, is well worth a visit, thanks to its village setting and museums. In Plassi, visitors can immerse themselves into Kalajoki’s old centre with its market square, riverside surroundings and idyllic wooden houses. In Plassi, you can visit Havula, the Art Nouveau villa of sawmill owner Oskari Santaholma and a small fishing museum. Alternatively, visitors can simply enjoy the atmosphere created by the main street, riverside and old wooden houses.

See Ansio ketch

  • Read more  →

    Ansio Galeas

    Sail to the island of Maakalla with the Galeas Ansio! The Galeas Ansio is a traditional wooden two-mast vessel, whose unique beauty will enchant you! The Ansio was designed based on the original line drawings, a model boat and a single photograph of the original Galeas Ansio built in 1891 in Kalajoki. You can find the most recent sailing schedules on
    our web page. All sailing trips depart from Kalajoki’s Konikarvo fishing harbour.

    Ansio Galeas
    +358 44 270 4358
    www.plassi.fi